Comparisons

Is There a Harvey Alternative for Government or Courts?

Yes. For courts, Learned Hand (owned by Clio since September 2026) is built for judges and clerks, and the federal judiciary already has Lexis+ AI through LexisNexis. For agencies, Lexis+ for Government holds FedRAMP certified status and Thomson Reuters is in process. Harvey is still building its public sector offering.

An empty judge's chambers with a laptop, case files and a gavel on a wooden desk, with a government office corridor visible through the door.

Quick answer

Yes. Courts can use Learned Hand, an AI workspace for judges and clerks that Clio bought on September 30, 2026, and federal judges already have Lexis+ AI through a seven-year LexisNexis contract. Agencies that need FedRAMP should look at Lexis+ for Government, which is FedRAMP certified, or Thomson Reuters, which is FedRAMP in process. Harvey is still building its public sector program.

Is there a Harvey alternative for government or courts?

Yes. There are at least three, and which one fits depends on who sits at the desk. Learned Hand, now owned by Clio, fits judges and court clerks. Lexis+ AI and Lexis+ for Government from LexisNexis fit the federal judiciary and agencies that need FedRAMP. Thomson Reuters (Westlaw and CoCounsel) fits agencies already on Westlaw. Harvey fits government legal teams willing to buy before it finishes FedRAMP. OpenLaw for Attorneys (Lexi) fits private law firms, including firms that represent government clients. It is not built for courts or agencies.

One disclosure: we build one of these tools. It gets one entry and one honest take, same as the rest. Lexi is the AI paralegal in OpenLaw for Attorneys. It is a different company from getlexi.io, which also uses the name Lexi and has its own Harvey alternatives page.

Who this page is for: law firm owners, partners and administrators who work with or sell to public bodies, plus government lawyers and court administrators comparing their options.

When we checked: we checked vendor pages, prices and security claims in October 2026. None of these vendors publishes list prices, so treat any number here as a starting point for negotiation.

Harvey vs. government and court alternatives, as of October 2026
QuestionHarveyLexis+ AI / Lexis+ for GovernmentLearned Hand (Clio)OpenLaw for Attorneys (Lexi)
Who makes itHarveyLexisNexisLearned Hand, acquired by Clio on September 30, 2026OpenLaw (not getlexi.io)
Primary jobBroad legal AI: drafting, review, research, workflow buildingLegal research with generative AI grounded in Lexis content and Shepard'sAI workspace for judges and clerks: bench memos, draft orders, filing reviewAI paralegal for firm operations: intake, scheduling, drafting, discovery responses, billing
Best forLarge legal departments and firms; government legal teams that will pilotFederal judiciary and agencies that need FedRAMPTrial and appellate courtsPrivate law firms, including firms with government clients
Government security statusBuilding toward FedRAMP and StateRAMP/GovRAMP; none listed on its security pageLexis+ for Government is FedRAMP certified (July 2026); AI features to be addedNo FedRAMP claim found; sold to courts under court contractsSOC 2 Type II; not marketed to government buyers
Courts already using itNot publicly documentedU.S. federal judiciary under a seven-year contract (March 2025)Superior Court of Los Angeles County and Riverside County Superior Court, among othersNone; built for firms
Pricing modelQuote only, per seat, annual contractQuote only; government contractsCourt contracts (LA: $314,000; Riverside: $10,000)Quote only, by demo

What does each tool actually do for courts and agencies?

Each tool does a different job. Learned Hand drafts for the bench, Lexis and Westlaw are research platforms with AI on top, Harvey is a general legal AI workspace, and Lexi runs a law firm's back office.

Learned Hand (Clio)

Learned Hand is the only product here built for judges. Clio's September 30, 2026 announcement describes an AI workspace that connects to court case management systems and helps judges and clerks review filings, analyze disputed issues, do legal research, and prepare bench memoranda and draft orders. CalMatters reported in May 2026 that the Superior Court of Los Angeles County signed a $314,000 contract and the Riverside County Superior Court a $10,000 agreement, both starting in February 2026. The tool combines models from Anthropic, OpenAI and Google.

Lexis+ AI and Lexis+ for Government (LexisNexis)

LexisNexis has the deepest foothold in federal courts. In March 2025 the federal judiciary gave LexisNexis a seven-year contract. The contract covers every federal judge and judiciary employee and includes Lexis+ AI. On July 7, 2026, LexisNexis announced that Lexis+ for Government reached FedRAMP certified status. Read the fine print, though: the certified scope covers primary and secondary law, Shepard's, document analysis and folders. LexisNexis says it plans to add AI features "over the coming months."

Westlaw and CoCounsel (Thomson Reuters)

Thomson Reuters is close behind on federal security. It reached FedRAMP "In Process" status on July 31, 2025, with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as sponsor. Its FedRAMP page lists Westlaw, Practical Law and CLEAR as "Agency Authorized In Process" and expects certification in 2026. That page does not list CoCounsel, its generative AI assistant.

Harvey

Harvey is moving into government but has not arrived. Its public sector job postings say it "already has active engagements at government agencies." They also say the team is working on "FedRAMP and StateRAMP/GovRAMP positioning" for federal, state and local legal offices. Harvey's security page lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, but no FedRAMP authorization as of October 2026.

OpenLaw for Attorneys (Lexi)

Lexi handles intake, scheduling, client communication, engagement letters, discovery responses and payments for private firms. It connects to Clio and Thomson Reuters tools. A firm that does municipal defense or contracts with a public agency can run its own practice on Lexi. A court or agency should not buy it. For the full list of what it covers, see what Lexi replaces in a firm's operations stack.

Reported pricing for Harvey and alternatives, checked October 2026
PlanPrice per seat, per monthCheckedSource
Harvey, base seatAbout $1,200 (third-party estimate; Harvey does not publish prices)October 2026Vaquill pricing analysis, citing analyst estimates
Harvey, LexisNexis-bundled seatAbout $2,400 (third-party estimate)October 2026Vaquill pricing analysis
CoCounsel Legal (Thomson Reuters)$225 to $400+ (third-party estimate)October 2026Vaquill, citing Costbench (June 2026)
Learned Hand (court contracts)Not per seat: LA Superior Court $314,000; Riverside Superior Court $10,000October 2026CalMatters, May 2026
Lexis+ for GovernmentNot published; set by government contractOctober 2026LexisNexis
OpenLaw for Attorneys (Lexi)Not published; quoted after a demoOctober 2026lexi.law

How much does Harvey cost compared to government alternatives?

Nobody here publishes a list price, so every number is an estimate or a public contract. Third-party analysts put a Harvey base seat near $1,200 per user per month as of October 2026. A seat bundled with LexisNexis content runs near $2,400. Analysts put CoCounsel at $225 to $400 or more per user.

Courts buy differently. Learned Hand's California contracts were priced per court, not per seat. Federal judges get Lexis+ AI through the judiciary's enterprise contract rather than individual seats. Government buyers will also price procurement time: Harvey's own job posting expects its sales team to work GSA schedules and state cooperative purchasing. That is a sign those paths are still being built.

Treat any number as a starting point for negotiation. For a method to weigh cost against hours saved, see the ROI of AI for law firms.

Is Harvey safe for confidential government and court work?

For private-sector confidentiality, mostly yes. For federal cloud rules, not yet. Harvey says it holds SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and ISO 42001. It says it does not use inputs, outputs or uploaded documents to train models, and it requires zero data retention from its model providers. A federal agency that must use FedRAMP-authorized cloud services, though, cannot rely on SOC 2 alone.

Privilege turns on the tool's terms, not its brand. In United States v. Heppner (S.D.N.Y.), Judge Jed S. Rakoff ruled on February 10, 2026 and explained in a written opinion on February 17, 2026 that documents a defendant made with consumer Claude were not privileged and not work product. The consumer terms allowed disclosure and training on user inputs, which defeated any reasonable expectation of confidentiality. The court suggested that enterprise tools with contractual confidentiality, used at counsel's direction, might be treated differently.

ABA Formal Opinion 512 (July 29, 2024) puts the same burden on lawyers in any setting. You must understand the tool, protect client information, get informed consent where needed, and verify every output before it reaches a tribunal. Court staff have extra issues. CalMatters reported that the courts testing Learned Hand would not say whether litigants know the tool is used on their cases. For what to ask any vendor, see what law firms should demand on SOC 2.

Security and compliance claims, as of October 2026
QuestionHarveyLexis+ for GovernmentThomson Reuters (Westlaw, CoCounsel)OpenLaw for Attorneys (Lexi)
FedRAMPNot authorized; working on positioningCertified (July 2026); AI features not yet in scopeIn process (since July 2025); CoCounsel not listedNo
SOC 2SOC 2 Type IINot stated in FedRAMP releaseNot checked for this pageSOC 2 Type II (Security)
Training on uploadsNo, per Harvey security pageNot stated in releaseZero-retention architecture claimed for CoCounselNo, per lexi.law
Privilege risk under HeppnerLower: enterprise terms, no trainingLower: government contract termsLower: enterprise termsLower: enterprise terms, no training

Where does Harvey still win?

Harvey still wins on breadth. It is a single workspace for drafting, document review, research and custom workflows, and many large firms and corporate legal departments already use it. A state attorney general's office or a large agency counsel's office that wants one general-purpose AI, and can buy outside FedRAMP rules, may find Harvey the most capable option.

It also wins on momentum in the public sector. A dedicated government sales team and stated FedRAMP and StateRAMP/GovRAMP work mean the gap may close. Check its FedRAMP status again before any procurement decision.

Can firms or agencies use both?

Yes, and many will. The tools sit at different layers. A federal court can use Lexis+ AI for research under its existing contract and Learned Hand for bench memos. An agency can keep Westlaw for research and pilot Harvey for drafting where its rules allow.

For law firms that serve government clients, the usual pairing is a research or drafting AI (Harvey, Lexis+ AI or CoCounsel) plus an operations layer like Lexi for intake, deadlines and billing. Our comparison of Legora and Lexi explains that split between legal productivity and firm operations.

Which Harvey alternative should you choose?

Pick by who will use the tool and what security rules apply to the buyer.

  • Choose Learned Hand (Clio) if: you run or staff a court and want AI built for bench memos and draft orders that connects to your case management system.
  • Choose Lexis+ AI or Lexis+ for Government if: you are in the federal judiciary, or you are an agency that needs a FedRAMP certified research platform now and can wait for its AI features.
  • Choose Westlaw and CoCounsel if: your office already runs on Thomson Reuters and can wait for its FedRAMP certification.
  • Choose Harvey if: you are a government legal team that wants broad drafting and review AI and is not bound by FedRAMP-only rules.
  • Choose OpenLaw for Attorneys (Lexi) if: you are a private firm, including one with public-sector clients, and your bottleneck is intake, scheduling, drafting and billing rather than research.

The verdict: Courts have a real Harvey alternative in Learned Hand, and the federal judiciary already has Lexis+ AI. Agencies that need FedRAMP have Lexis+ for Government today and Thomson Reuters soon. Harvey is the one to watch, not yet the one to procure. Our guide on how to choose the right AI tool for your law firm has a checklist for any of these evaluations.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a Harvey alternative for government or courts?

Yes. Learned Hand, owned by Clio since September 30, 2026, is built for judges and court clerks. The federal judiciary has Lexis+ AI under a seven-year LexisNexis contract. Agencies that need FedRAMP can use Lexis+ for Government, which is FedRAMP certified, or wait for Thomson Reuters, whose Westlaw is in process.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Harvey AI?

Yes, usually. Third-party analysts put a Harvey base seat near $1,200 per user per month as of October 2026, and CoCounsel at $225 to $400 or more. Harvey does not publish prices, so these are estimates. Firms whose main costs are intake and admin may get more value from an operations tool like Lexi.

How much does Harvey AI cost compared to Lexis+ AI?

Neither publishes list prices. Third-party estimates put a Harvey seat near $1,200 per month and a LexisNexis-bundled Harvey seat near $2,400, as of October 2026. Lexis+ AI pricing depends on your LexisNexis contract, and federal judges get it through the judiciary's enterprise agreement. Get written quotes from both.

Is Harvey AI safe for confidential legal work?

Mostly yes for private practice. Harvey reports SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 and says it does not train models on customer inputs or uploads. It is not FedRAMP authorized as of October 2026, so federal agencies bound by FedRAMP rules should wait or get a waiver.

Is Lexis+ AI safe for confidential legal work?

Generally yes, and LexisNexis has the strongest government credentials here. Lexis+ for Government reached FedRAMP certified status in July 2026, and the federal judiciary has used Lexis+ AI since its 2025 contract. Note that the FedRAMP scope does not yet include AI features, which LexisNexis says are coming.

Can Harvey AI hallucinate case citations like ChatGPT?

Yes, any generative AI tool can produce wrong or invented citations, including legal-specific ones. ABA Formal Opinion 512 makes the lawyer responsible for checking every output before it reaches a court. Tools grounded in a citator, such as Lexis+ AI with Shepard's, make checking easier but do not remove the duty.

Is Lexi a good Harvey alternative?

Sometimes. Lexi, the AI paralegal in OpenLaw for Attorneys, fits private firms that need intake, scheduling, drafting, discovery responses and billing handled. It is not a court or agency tool and is not FedRAMP authorized. Firms that need broad research AI often pair Lexi with Lexis+ AI, Westlaw or Harvey.

How does Lexi vs Harvey pricing compare?

Neither publishes prices as of October 2026. Harvey sells annual per-seat contracts that third parties estimate at about $1,200 per seat per month. Lexi is quoted after a demo. Compare total cost against the hours each tool saves, not seat price alone.

What does Lexi do that Harvey doesn't?

Lexi runs firm operations. It handles client intake and scheduling, client communication, engagement letters and payment processing, and it connects to Clio and Thomson Reuters tools. Harvey centers on legal drafting, review and research. Lexi does not replace Harvey's research depth, and Harvey is not built to run a firm's back office.

Is my data safe with Lexi?

Yes, by its published terms. Lexi has completed an independent SOC 2 Type II examination for Security controls. It says client data is never used to train or fine-tune AI models, and that inference runs in isolated infrastructure on Google Cloud Platform. Review the SOC 2 report and contract terms before you upload client files.

Sources

  1. Sales Manager, Public Sector, Harvey
  2. Security, Harvey
  3. Federal Judiciary Awards Multi-Year Contract to LexisNexis, LexisNexis
  4. Lexis+ for Government Becomes the First Legal Research Solution to Achieve FedRAMP Certified Status, LexisNexis
  5. Thomson Reuters becomes the first in its market to achieve FedRAMP In Process status, Thomson Reuters
  6. FedRAMP In Process: Security that protects government missions, Thomson Reuters
  7. Clio Acquires Learned Hand, Clio via Cision Newswire
  8. California judges are testing a new AI clerk, and you won't know if it's looking at your case, CalMatters
  9. Harvey, Legora and CoCounsel pricing reality 2026, Vaquill
  10. SDNY addresses privilege and work product implications of using unsecured public AI tools, Proskauer Rose LLP
  11. Formal Opinion 512: Generative Artificial Intelligence Tools, American Bar Association (hosted by Minnesota Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board)
  12. Lexi for law firms, OpenLaw for Attorneys
  13. SOC 2 Compliance for Legal Tech: What Law Firms Should Demand, OpenLaw for Attorneys